top of page

Benefits of Elderberry Syrup and How to Use It


I recently started making elderberry syrup for friends, family, and church family because after my first use of it I knew this was something I needed to keep in the house. I first began purchasing it from a local friend, however because people were constantly wanting a jar and it was hard to catch up with her. I had to learn how to make it myself. I had no idea where to start, luckily my husband found a video from Mountain Rose Herbs that gave simple instructions. So I started making it from home. Boy and I'm glad I did! This was just one step in the right direction that added to my DIY list of things to make. You can find the video here.

Benefits of Elderberries

Elderberries have a history of being able to support the body and its ability to ward off a variety of ailments. Elderberries have been shown to boost the immunity, decrease the mucous production during colds and help fight the flu. Elderberries are a rich source of vitamin A & C, which are critical in helping the body maintain optimal health. It also contains bioflavonoids which boost the body's immune system by increasing antioxidant levels. Elderberries also make colds and other upper respiratory symptoms tolerable by reducing the mucous secretions. They may also reduce ​the welling of respiratory passages which means less discomfort and trouble breathing. A daily dose can assist you in preventing these acute and chronic ailments. Elderberry syrup can also decrease the length and severity of your flu symptoms. According to a study in the Journal of International Medical Research, patients given elderberry syrup recovered an average of 4 days faster from the flu than those not taking the supplement. Source Link

How to use Elderberry Syrup

Please consult a health care provider before starting any type of herbal remedy or supplement. Please keep in mind I am not a licensed medical professional, I am merely suggesting ways you can use the syrup.

Health benefits of the elder plant include naturally improving colds, the flu, sinus issues, nerve pain, inflammation, chronic fatigue, allergies, constipation and even cancer. When used within the first 48 hours of onset of symptoms, the extract has actually been found to reduce the duration of the flu with symptoms. I found these amazing graphics from Dr. Axe website which you can view here. However if you are intending to ingest it orally, you can take 1 (one) tablespoon four times a day or 1 (one) teaspoon four times a day for children. However I have taken mine every hour during the cycle of my common ailments.

Thanks for reading this blog post. In efforts to save time and resources, if you would like a jar and you're in the okc area please send me message on FB through my page, The Shana Nicole.

Until Next time.

With Love & Light,

Shana G

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page